Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes!

pineapple upside down cupcakeYesterday I got the itch to bake (which is rare for a weekday since my free time after work is limited and typically allocated to something else), so I went to the grocery store, stocked up on supplies and got to work. I wanted to try our Pineapple Upside Down Cupcake recipe again since the first try came out really messy and not all that tasty in my opinion. Plus I wanted to try a new idea I had. So I made up our yellow cake recipe, and while that was baking I combined butter, brown sugar, maraschino cherries, and pineapple in a sauce pan and cooked it together to make the filling. I blended the cooked pineapple and cherries into a chunky compote, and used that to fill each cupcake. Then I drizzled the reserved syrup/glaze over the cupcakes, topping them with pineapple buttercream and a cherry.

The end result: Significantly better than our previous attempt, and easily one of the best we’ve made so far. They could use a little more filling, but the flavors seem to be spot-on to a traditional pineapple upside-down cake, but assembled with a non-traditional twist. Pending bakery-ownership, these are sure to be BIG sellers!

Leave a Reply

