Pumpkin Pie Cupcakes!

pumpkin pie cupcakeSo, in the spirit of fall I decided that I needed to make an autumn-y cupcake, and when i think autumn, I think cinnamon and pumpkin. Originally I figured I could do a pumpkin spice cake with cream cheese frosting, but that seemed too predictable and boring to me. So I chose to design a pumpkin pie cupcake based on my grandmother’s incredible pumpkin pie recipe. The first batch was loaded with pumpkin, and apparently it was too much for my delicate cupcakes, so they fell in the oven 😦 On round two I cut the pumpkin in half and the end result was much better πŸ™‚ Beautiful fluffy cake with a nice crown! They did seem to lack the color of the first batch, though…and had a very subtle pumpkin flavor.

For the frosting, instead of doing a typical cream cheese frosting, I decided to make a pumpkin cream cheese frosting. I cannot express how absolutely amazing it tastes! It’s our typical cream cheese frosting with some pumpkin and my grandmother’s spices. So good!! I piped that onto the cake, then piped a small dollop of my homemade whipped cream on that and sprinkled the whole thing with cinnamon. It tastes just like grandma’s pumpkin pie with whipped cream πŸ™‚

Pumpkin has a very high moisture content, so I struggled a bit trying to find the right amounts to use and keep my recipe harmoniously balanced. Obviously the first attempt was a flop, but the second attempt seemed to work out pretty well. My only issue is that the second attempt didn’t have a strong pumpkin flavor…at least not strong enough for me. Perhaps on the third attempt I’ll ring out as much moisture as I can from the pumpkin…which should allow me to put more of it into the recipe, which translates to more pumpkin flavor. The high moisture content of the pumpkin also screwed up my first attempt at the frosting…it was very runny and unappetizing. So I did the same thing and cut the pumpkin in half as well as taking out some of the cream cheese to lower the overall wet-to-dry ratio. Worked like a charm πŸ™‚

I think our next cupcakes will be either Caramel Apple or Bananas Foster…

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Cupcakes!

  1. haha thanks! Yeah I need to bake some for the family when I come up. The problem is deciding what flavor(s) to make. The Pumpkin Pie one is absolutely amazing though! And since I’ll be up for Christmas, I’ll probably make those…and maybe some vanilla caramel since they’re really easy and SUPER delicious!

Leave a Reply

