White Chocolate Strawberry and Key Lime Cupcakes!

Our church hosted a feast for the teachers of our church-sponsored elementary school last Monday, and they asked me to bake up a couple dozen cupcakes for the event. Being married to a teacher, I obviously recognize the value of our teachers, so I obliged.

We decided to make up two dozen white-chocolate-covered strawberry cupcakes, and two dozen key lime pie cupcakes.

white chocolate covered strawberry cupcake   Key Lime Pie Cupcake

I have to say that our strawberry cupcakes are the best I’ve had anywhere. We make the cake with fresh strawberries, and top them with a strawberry cream cheese frosting. So for this occasion, we decided to add an extra dimension with some Ghirardelli white chocolate “chips” and garnished with a strawberry slice dipped in white chocolate. Absolutely incredible 🙂 The first time I made key lime pie cupcakes they were amazing, but I ran into some chemistry issues that cause the cakes to deflate after baking. So this time around I made some changes to the recipe to keep the cakes lofty. I got the loft I wanted, but to be completely honest I wasn’t too fond of the new flavor. It was strong key lime flavor, but it lacked depth. Now, don’t let my opinion fool you – they were still delicious, but they aren’t up to my standards just yet. I still have some work to do. I topped them with my amazing whipped cream, graham cracker crumbs, and a wedge of key lime. They may not be up to snuff in the flavor department just yet, but they do look incredible, don’t they? 🙂

2 thoughts on “White Chocolate Strawberry and Key Lime Cupcakes!

  1. I prefer dark red strawberries that are just past ripe, because they tend to have more of a strawberry flavor. Younger strawberries lack flavor and just have sweetness or tartness. So I get the older strawberries, and puree them with an appropriate amount of sugar, and a pinch of salt to bring out the flavor even more. 1lb of strawberries makes a little over 1 cup of puree.

Leave a Reply

